Cooking Abroad

I don’t consider myself a good cook. I do dabble in experiments in the kitchen but my repertoire is limited to : long cut adobo, paella, Italian style spaghetti and torta patata. Baking, on the other hand, is a different thing.

Back in Australia, our dinners were different from what I am used to in Manila. For one, rice was not a regular except if we have Chinese. And I am talking about food, not the nationality. Cooking, traveling or not, definitely saves a lot of money.

Below are some of the food Boo and I whipped up (except for the prune bread which I baked very early in the morning in my first week there).

PhotoGrid_1389963616386

image

image

image

image

image

I must say that preparing and cooking your own food bring a different satisfaction. Yes, there are more plates to wash but getting first hand lessons from someone is a happy bonding time. Much better than a fine dining date.

And washing the dishes is never a chore when someone got your back. I am lucky to have Boo who is very comfortable in the kitchen and  Dotty who ate all the excess food.

image

14 thoughts on “Cooking Abroad

  1. yummy dishes! would love to cook those one of these days, too. thanks for sharing, sis. i’m curious about the fish finger and the pasta. 🙂

    • The fish fingers are actually frozen ones we put in the oven. The pasta is a simple white sauce–yoghurt nga lang for a change since there were a large tub of yoghurt available. The recipe is simple : veggies blanched in a stock of your choice then add some greek style yoghurt. Let it simmer then add the cooked pasta. Voila! A tangy vegetable pasta!

What's on your mind?

